A Few Words About Us

NAMP was Registered in District Administration Office, Kathmandu on 06th Poush 2066B.S with Regno: 644 .

One of the primary goals of our organization is the identification and implementation of improvements in patient safety for the medical use of radiation in imaging and radiation therapy.

Know more

There is a worldwide scientific community specializing in Medical Physics. The medical physicist working throughout the nation established NAMP in 2009 to form our own association to recognize internationally in medical physics world. It has also life members form others diciplines like radiation oncologist, radiololgists , nuclear medicine physician and technologists. Raising awareness of Medical Physics profession is the great importance for our society. NAMP is affiliated with IOMP representing more than 18000 Medical Physicists worldwide. The classification of medical physicists by International Labor Organization (ILO) i.e. medical physicists are now recognized as health professionals worldwide.

IAEA has taken initiative in strengthening medical physics in developing countries. There is a trend to appoint a trainee physicist and trained him to be a medical physicist in Nepal. There are 9 male medical physicists including one in diagnostic radiology teaching faculty. We shared and exchanged our professional and scientific problems for seeking their solution. Justification of uses of ionizing radiation in human health, abreast with new advanced technologies in therapeutic and diagnostic imaging clinical application are challenging in Nepal. Only doing clinical routine medical physics work will not be enough research and education is also important. To meet the future requirement of medical physicists in country a formal courses or residency program is essential. The uniform medical physics training program, the accreditation system for medical physicist is to be introduced. Though we are still small in number and remain rather insignificant internationally but with our continuous effort in learning and improving ourselves we will advance education and our practice. Professional recognition and accreditation is essential.

Executive committee

Pradumna Prasad Chaurasia

M.Sc.(TU), PGT (Germany)


President NAMP

A.Chief Medical Physicist/RSO

BPKMCH, Bharatpur , Nepal



Prof. Shanta lall Shrestha

M.Sc.(Malaysia), Medical physics

Vice-President NAMP

T.U. Teaching Hospital

Kathmandu , Nepal



Dr. Kanchan P Adhikari

M.Sc., PhD. (TU/University of Malaga)


General Secratary NAMP

Senior medical physicist/RSO

NAMS/Bir Hospital

Kathmandu, Nepal



Bidyapati Jha

M.Sc.(TU), PGT (UK)

Secratary NAMP

Senior medical physicist/RSO

Department of Radiotherapy

BCC Bhaktapur

Kathmandu, Nepal



Surendra Bahadur Chand

M.Sc.(TU), PGT (Malaysia)

Treasurer NAMP

Senior medical physicist at BPKMCH

Bharatpur, Nepal



Matrika Prasad Adhikari

M.Sc.(TU),PG Dip.R.P.(Mumbai), NKN (Moscow)

Executive Member NAMP

Medical physicist/RSO at BPKMCH

Bharatpur, Nepal



Prabhu Chandra Acharya

M.Sc.(TU), PGT(Malaysia)

Executive Member NAMP

Medical physicist at BCC Bhaktapur

Kathmandu, Nepal



Ram Narayan Yadav

M.Sc., M.A.(TU), M.S.(NTNU,Norway)

Active Member NAMP

Medical physicist at BPKMCH

Bharatpur, Nepal



Pramod Kumar Yadav

M.sc (india) Medical physics

Active Member NAMP

Medical physicist/lecturer

Manipal Teaching Hospital

Pokhara, Nepal



Some of our Activities